12dp1dt

Okay guys, thanks for thinking positive thoughts for me. I noticed something weird — the veins on my chest are here are night, but gone in the morning. The soreness fluctuates too. When I first get up in the morning, they are super sore. But once I get up and move around, they are less sore. My tummy feels unsettled but it could just be nerves. I feel nauseous and hungry at the same time. One difference from the last two cycles — ZERO spotting. IVF#1 and #2, I started to spot days before my beta, despite my progesterone. This time I have no spotting at all. I keep thinking I feel something, like a little gush of fluid, and I run to the bathroom for a panty check to see if I am spotting. And there is nothing there, or just clear, watery CM. I am a little crampy but I have heard many, many people say that they are crampy before their BFPs. Okay, I have to admit that my hopes are up (I hate to admit it!!!) again.

Okay, on to my distractions. Last night, TW and I were invited to a friend’s house for dinner. They are actually my parents’ friends, in their mid-70s. They like to invite us when my parents are in France, sort of like surrogate parents. Ironically their daughter-in-law is also going through IVF (two failed cycles)…but it is really hush-hush (their son is a local celebrity). My mom and her friend were gabbing and somehow it came out, but I am not supposed to know (and I was a little annoyed that my mom was blabbing about me too). Anyway, I was in the kitchen with the wife last night and told her that if their DIL wanted to talk to someone in real life who is in the EXACT same sitch, that I am here. I am not sure that the DIL will take me up on it, she is SUPER closed lipped about the whole thing.

Anyway, here is the annoying story about dinner. We were invited at 6pm. Actually, they gave us a choice: 6pm or 6:30pm. I chose 6pm because TW likes to eat on the early side, plus he knows that when we are invited to someone’s house for dinner, there is always about an hour before we actually eat. So we get there at six and then S (the hostess) tell us that she invited another guest, but he isn’t coming until 7pm. She proceeded to tell us some stories about the guest and his wife — the wife is WEIRD. She said that three or four times they invited the couple over, and the wife ended up saying she was too tired and she stayed in the car, in the driveway, while everyone ate dinner. WTF? So S was relieved that the wife wasn’t coming.

So, we are all sitting in the living room, S and A and TW are sipping cocktails while I am having my bubbly water. It is 7:15pm and the phone rings. It is the other guest, R. He asks if he can “bring someone”. S asks him if he wants to bring his wife, and he said yes. S was annoyed because she hadn’t cooked for 6 but she of course said it would be fine. We wait, and wait. S kept saying, ‘We should just start without them…no…let’s wait a couple more minutes’. We were STARVING!!! At 8:15pm, they finally pull up, but the wife is on her cell phone and keeps motioning through the window that she will be one more minute. She finally comes into the house at 8:45pm! UGH. So by the time we left, we had been there for FOUR hours. And the food was terrible too. S made Ethiopian food — I am adventurous when it comes to food, so I was excited to try it. She made two dishes, one with chicken and one that was veggie. They were identical looking (reddish), and the texture of both was like mashed potatoes, with little chunks. I couldn’t tell the difference between the two.  It didn’t really taste like anything…except SUPER HOT and SPICY. Now I want to go to an Ethiopian restaurant to see what it really is supposed to be like!

Two more days and a wake up before beta!

11 Responses to “12dp1dt”

  1. Shawna Says:

    I can’t wait for 2 more days to pass! I hope that this is it for you. It definitely sounds hopeful. Good Luck!

  2. Cece Says:

    That lady sounds like a FREAK!

    2 more days! Can’t wait to hear the results.

  3. Kahla Says:

    OK, the fact that someone even thinks it’s ok to act like that is just wrong. What a weirdo!

    I think cramping is a good sign, when I got pg w/our first IVF I would have sworn that AF was goign to show at any second! Keeping everything crossed for you!

  4. seriously? Says:

    Rude, rude, rude. As nice as it is to have you over they shouldn’t have made you wait for their other guests. I would have died if I had to wait that long to eat. When I get really hungry DH calls me the seriously-monster. I get so cranky. You are a very lovely person for not stomping out. I can’t wait for Wednesday, it’s going to be a great day.

  5. Heather Says:

    Every cycle I have ever had is always different. I was just as crampy as normal – and I cramped most of the first trimester. I didn’t spot, even though I had spotted on some previous cycles which were busts.

    All I’m saying is, my body was wacky all the time. And so I never knew until I tested and every cycle I still drove myself nuts trying to figure out what was going on.

    I’m sending lots and lots of good vibes and thoughts your way. Hell, if I had baby dust I’d send some of that over too!

  6. Kirsten Eide Says:

    Wow… sounding really hopeful. My prayers are with you guys, can’t wait for Wednesday!!!
    That lady sounded very odd… and just plain rude!

  7. Pepper Says:

    What a horrible dinner party: bad company AND bad food! Ugh.

    Fingers crossed for Wednesday!

  8. Elle Says:

    I’m having major cramps as well. It’s horrible but good luck for tomorrow 🙂

    What a strange night you had at that dinner party! After the wine tasting evening you must be thinking not to bother accepting anymore invites?!!

  9. Lub Says:

    That couple sounds horrible! 1 more day!!!!!!!!!

  10. seriously? Says:

    No not a paramedic. I am an EMT-B. In my state the majority of the basic life support is volunteer. We are supported by paid paramedics who give the advanced care (drugs, IVs, intubation). I had been accepted into a paramedic program and have been doing the summer homework, but since you can only miss one class from Sept – June (Mon, Wed and Sat) I may not be able to go through with it now.

  11. Me Says:

    REAL Ethiopian is fabulous! You simply MUST try the real deal sometime!

Leave a comment