Distractions

First off, I want to give a huge shout-out to Calliope for making my new header for me. Doesn’t it ROCK? I love it!!

I am SO distracted and anxious/nervous/excited. Tomorrow cannot get here soon enough. I am sitting here at work, but not doing much of anything — besides surfing the internet. I am completely addicted to this site. If you click on it, wait a moment for an ad to cycle through and then it will bring you to the live camera that is focused on a mamma lion and her 4 babies in a zoo in Norway. They have the lights on a timer so it does get dark over there at about 11am my time, so I only get to see them for a few hours in the morning. Sometimes mamma is nursing or grooming them, other times the babies are romping around. I saw the camera pan out the other day, and there is a door to the outside, so sometimes none of them are in front of the camera. The mamma is gorgeous and the babies are so cute I want to eat them. You should check it out!

This morning I talked to my mom. Ugh. It is so trying just talking to her on the phone. She talks on and on and on without even taking a breath. Then all of a sudden she starts saying, ‘HELLO? HELLO?’ because she thinks I have hung up or the connection was lost. But she talks so incessantly there is no way for me to get a word in edgewise, and that is why I am silent. I have stopped even saying, “Yeah” or “Uh-Huh” to prove that I am listening, since it really doesn’t matter.  Of course she did her “Remember so-and-so? Her daughter just went through two IVFs and they failed. But her other daughter had an abortion last month. Isn’t that ironic?” — WHY does she tell me these things? In the middle of my sentence she always interrupts and starts her own story — but I try to keep talking. It never works and I have to shut up. Then she says, “What were you saying?” and interrupts me again when I try one more time. She is a horrible listener; I think it is because she is always thinking of the next thing she wants to say instead of paying attention to what I am saying. Then my dad picked up the other extension and I could hear the TV in the background, super loud. My mom started complaining to my dad about the TV being too loud, and my dad told her it wasn’t that loud. Then my dad told me to speak up because he couldn’t hear me, and when I told him I was practically yelling, he got pissy. Then my mom asked my dad what he was watching and they had their own conversation while I was just listening to them bicker. Then my dad hung up saying he couldn’t hear anything. Next, my mom started telling me about her social life. She said, “Our social life has picked up right where it left off. EVERYONE wants to invite us to lunch or dinner. I guess we are doing something right. We are the most popular couple in the village!” Blah, Blah, Blah. Then she told me about this party they went to on Friday night. “We met so many really nice people. But so-and-so was SO loud and obnoxious. And his wife was SO wrinkled, she looked like a little prune. And she was at least 20 years younger then me; I am SO lucky to have such great skin. Everyone tells me how beautiful I am, and how young I look!” Blah, Blah, Blah. This is a typical conversation. Ahhh. The joys of phone conversations with my mom. 

Yesterday I went bra shopping for everyday bras. What a nightmare that was. Not pretty. But I did end up getting four new bras, two ivory and two black. They are the kind that “look great under a t-shirt”. All I wear is v-neck t-shirts in the summer. I have to admit, they DO look great under a t-shirt! MUCH better than my old, tired bras. I got the kind with no seams, no tags. And they have shape to the cup, almost like a little bit of padding. Totally comfy and they make my boobs look extra full and perky. How exciting! BUT the only issue is that they won’t fit in my undie drawer because of the poof in the cups. I didn’t want to smash them down. How do you store these things? I ended up hanging them up in the closet on hangers — is that totally weird? I also have no idea how to wash them…anyone know? Does the poof get smashed if you wash them? I assume I need to handwash them in WooL.ite and hang them up to dry…HELP!

UGH. So hyper and restless today. It felt very weird not to have any shots this morning! First time since May 30th that I had zero shots to do. I hope I get some sleep tonight- the clinic gives me a diazapam to help with that, then I can take another one an hour before ER. My friend is picking me up at 8:30am to take me to my appointment. I will post tomorrow evening when I “come to” after my sedation wears off enough. Wish me luck!!!

14 Responses to “Distractions”

  1. Freyja Says:

    LUCK!!!

  2. kona Says:

    I love the new header too! It’s very jazzy looking!! 😉 Good luck for tomorrow!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😉

  3. Shawna Says:

    I wish you the best of luck! You hve reminded me that I need to go bra shopping. I will add that to my list of 2ww distractions.

  4. Trace Says:

    Good luck!!! Spiffy header!!

  5. seriously? Says:

    LOL… you sound like you can’t focus today. It’s great. I am so happy the day is almost here. I will be checking back tomorrow or Wednesday to see how it all went.

  6. lupuspie Says:

    LOL at your phone story. That sounds EXACTLY like the conversations I have with my in-laws!

    GOOD LUCK tomorrow at ER!!! Enjoy the drugs. 🙂 I hope they get lots and lots of great eggies!

  7. Kahla Says:

    Good luck!

  8. Wendy from Loungeplace Says:

    Hi – Just wanted to wish you all the best tomorrow for your ER! I hope you get lots of eggs. Love your new header for your blog, too. 🙂

  9. Chris Says:

    I’m wishing you all the best for tomorrow. I hope you have a spectacular harvest! I can’t wait to see your update.

  10. Pepper Says:

    Okay, your description of your conversation with your parents totally made me giggle. Gotta love ’em! 😉

    All the best for your ER tomorrow! I’ll be looking forward to your update.

    P.S. Fantastic header!

  11. Joonie Says:

    Good luck on your ER!

  12. amber Says:

    I hope everything went well.

  13. May Says:

    Bra-shopping. Family. Ugh.

    But good luck!

  14. Elle Says:

    My Mother is EXACTLY the same. Scarily the same actually. Maybe your Mother is related to mine 😉

Leave a Reply

