5 questions

Seriously? tagged me to answer these 5 questions, but so did a couple of other people a while ago – SORRY I took so long to answer! I think most of my blogging friends have been tagged on this one already.

What were you doing 10 years ago: I was gearing up to graduate with my MS in Counseling Psychology. After three grueling years going to school at night and working full time, it was quite an exciting time! I was struggling though because I realized I didn’t want to be a therapist and was trying to figure out what to do with my life. I was dealing with all sorts of questions from family and friends…WHY would you go to graduate school and still not know what you want to do with your life? I found a job at a private university in student services. It was the perfect field for me — and still is. I was also in a very long and trying relationship. We ended up breaking up in 1999, after 7.5 years of me waiting for him to pop the question. Yup. I think so often about how I wasted my “child bearing years” with an a-hole that never had the intent to make a commitment. But I do often wonder if I had been TTC back then — would I have been successful? Were my eggs in better shape back then? I will never know. However, thinking of having a child with that a-hole makes me shiver. Probably wouldn’t have been a good situation.

5 things on my ‘to do’ list today:
1. Work out (that is on my ‘to do’ every day, but I am not very successful at getting it done!)
2. Don’t eat like a pig (ditto)
3. Get some real work done instead of blogging and posting and commenting!
4. Call the guy from Closet Factory to get on the schedule for installing the stuff for our walk-in closets
5. Cook the chicken breasts that have been thawing in the fridge before they go bad and we can’t eat them

5 Snacks that I enjoy: I honestly don’t snack that much. Truly. But, I really do enjoy the summer fruits like peaches, nectarines, berries, cherries, mangos. Ack, I sound so healthy! If I need to choose a more junky snack: Ruffles Cheddar and Sour Cream Chips, any veggie dipped in “home-made” (not the bottled kind) Hidden Valley Ranch dressing (the powder you mix with buttermilk and mayo), I could eat a whole bucket full of pistachios or macadamia nuts, and who doesn’t love an old fashioned chocolate milk shake!

Things I would do if I were a billionaire: This is a tough one. I would love to save the world, but I know that a billion dollars wouldn’t make a dent. I would probably donate a ton to research into alternative fuel sources, and donate a bunch to my favorite environmental and animal charities (NRDC, HSUS, ASPCA, to name a few). I guess I would have to donate a bunch to the charity my mom started about 15 years ago…it really isn’t my thing, but it is in the family, so….I would definitely pay off my mortgage and spend a ton on landscaping. I would also spend a bunch more on ART if needed. Right now we will be tapped out after 2 more IVFs. Save a bunch for retirement, PT’s college. Maybe send myself to culinary school. And fat camp?

Places I have lived: I was born in Connecticut but my parents moved to California when I was two, and have been here ever since. I went to college in Los Angeles. My mom took me and my brother to India for a year when I was 10. That is about it.

Now, since this meme is so old, I am going to have a hard time tagging people….therefore, if you read this post and feel like doing the meme, consider yourself tagged!!!

12 Responses to “5 questions”

  1. DC Says:

    I love your answers! What a fun meme!! 🙂

    P.S. I love in CA too. 🙂

  2. Chris Says:

    Well I’m glad you were up to the challenge of this tag. You had lots of fun things to share. I was also born in Connecticut, but moved to California when I was 9. Stayed there until 3 1/2 years ago when hubby and I moved to Arizona.

  3. Pepper Says:

    Yeah, working out and not pigging out are on my list every day too, usually because they’re carried over from not accomplishing them the previous day. 🙂

  4. After 7 » Blog Archive » 5 questions Says:

    […] 5 questions We ended up breaking up in 1999, after 7.5 years of me waiting for him to pop the question. Yup. I think so often about how I wasted my “child… […]

  5. Kim Says:

    Ooooh now I want a chocolate milkshake! Yum!!! NCLM

  6. seriously? Says:

    Ok, so I have to be honest. I always wanted to go to fat camp. I even asked when I was a tween (although then they called it a kid).

    It does sound like you eat healthy snacks (as I go grab the cheez – its). Oh, you live so far away… maybe we can meet at a midwest fat camp 🙂

  7. Q Says:

    Cool, I lived in CT for 7 years as a teen, and live in Los Angeles now. 😀

  8. SAHW Says:

    Via NCLM. Nice to get to know you on my first visit…this is a good meme for that. 🙂

  9. DC Says:

    We are totally on for the animal rescue center! Whoever wins the lotto first buys the land, OK? 😉

  10. K Says:

    I love fresh fruits in the summer. Great meme!

  11. C Says:

    Great meme. I have an MA in Counseling Psychology, too, which I earned over 3 years while working full time. Oh, the fun! I love your idea to give to animal organizations, that would be on my list too. I’m jealous you don’t like snacks! I could lose about 10-15 pounds if I could just cut down the snacking. 😛

    Via NaComLeavMo

  12. Pamela Jeanne Says:

    I’m still trying to figure out what I want to do when I grow up! And chocolate milk shakes rule…

Leave a Reply

