Going Mental

The eating orgy is over. I ate out on the 27th, the 29th, the 30th and the 31st. Thank God it is over. And it ended with a bang, because I now have food poisoning (I think). I feel like I am going into labor every hour or so – my stomach clenches up and I am doubled over in pain, and then it subsides. TW got something too – he power vomited on Saturday night, then he came down with the chills and body aches, but he is better now. I think I am starting to get better now too (I hope), but the amount of time I have spent on the toilet over the last few days is unreal. I put a sign on the back of the toilet that says, “Property of Babystep’s Ass”. My cornhole has to be cleaned out by now. Maybe I will lose a couple of pounds.

So, I know you are all waiting with bated breath…what did Babystep get for her birthday? TW gave me a $200 gift certificate to Ma.cy’s. Geh. I guess it is better than $50 but I sure wasted a lot of hot air trying to explain what kind of gift he should give me. I told him I was going to use it to buy a rug or something for the new house — he told me I should buy some new bras. Obviously the new bras would be more for him than for me…so forget it!

On Friday night I was invited to a “French Dinner” that was hosted by a family from PT’s school. They donated this dinner for the annual silent auction, and my friend “A” invited me. She sent me an e-mail saying that she bid on the dinner and she was inviting her favorite moms to join her. It tickled me that I was one of her favorite “moms”….I think I am one of the only (if not the only) step-mom that is involved with the school. Anyway, I told her I would love to go. Well….a few days ago my friend “P” mentioned that “A” wanted each of us to pitch in $100 towards the dinner. WTF? It wasn’t like a bunch of us went in together and decided to bid on the item at the auction. “A” did it herself and then invited us … then she wants us to pay $100? I was waiting for “A” to ask me herself, and I was planning to tell her that I would have never agreed to come if I had to pay $100. “A” never came to me herself, but everyone else kept telling me that if I don’t pay, I would be on “A”‘s shit list forever. TW convinced me to pay. So I handed her a check on Friday before dinner, but I was SO ANNOYED. Dinner was good, but was it worth $100? I think not. Do you think what “A” did was unreasonable? I would NEVER do that.

I think I am losing my mind — or it is just proof just how bored I am with IVF. The first two times I was SO anal about the meds, I was completely obsessive compulsive. Well, on Friday night I completely forgot my lup.ron. I woke up at 3am in a start and got up to give myself the shot with one eyeball opened. Then my schedule was all fucked up. I started taking it 10 hours apart instead of 12…so the next afternoon I took it at 1pm, then that evening at 11pm, then the next morning at 9am, then that night at 8pm…and now I am back on track. But guess what — today I flew out the door to go to work, and I was almost there, and I realized I had forgotten my Lu.pron! What the fuck is wrong with me! So I turned around and went all the way back home. Lu.pron is expensive enough without burning a quarter tank of gas for a forgotten shot. What is wrong with me!!!

I am trying to keep my mom away from X. For some reason, my mom thinks she is being really helpful, but she just likes to meddle. My mom has met X one time for literally 30 seconds. But now she is obsessed with trying to help her, do something for her (and mind you, my mom no longer drives, so I am not sure what she thinks she can do). She wanted to call her to see how she was feeling, or send her an e-mail. In my next post, I will post some e-mails that my mom has sent to me (and others) and you will understand why I won’t let her send X an e-mail. My mom has zero filter, and has no idea how awful her words come across sometimes. And she is passive aggressive and manipulative. It would be HORRIBLE if my mom got in touch with X.  My mom has some big fantasy that we are all going to end up great friends, and she thinks she can be the catalyst. I.MUST.STOP.HER. I shiver at the thought of my mom having a conversation with X.

Okay, now I am shivering at the thought of not getting to the toilet in 15 seconds or less. Gotta run.

 

11 Responses to “Going Mental”

  1. DC Says:

    It sounds like you had a great birthday (well, apart from all the cr@pping and such)! 😉

    I hope you feel better soon.

  2. Pepper Says:

    So this A person invited you to a dinner at her house, was going to charge you $100 for the privilege, but didn’t tell you this up front, and if you refused to pay then you would be the one on HER shit list? Umm. Wow. That scenario breaches so many rules of etiquette that I don’t even know where to begin. Suffice it to say that I agree you would have been perfectly justified in either cancelling, refusing to pay, or saying something along those lines if she’d had the gall to ask you for the money.

    I can’t wait to read those emails from your mom. 🙂 Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  3. Heather Says:

    It is unreasonable for “A” to do that!

    I hope you get better soon….that is just miserable!

  4. Kim Says:

    I do think it is totally unreasonable to ask you to pay! I get so mad about this stuff. We went to dinner with a couple once, they had 2 apps. (we did not share and were not asked to) , 2 dinners, 3-4 alcoholic drinks each and 2 desserts. We had 2 dinners, no alcohol, and one dessert. And when the check came they wanted to spit it 50/50. I was like um, no. Ugh! It isn’t like I never split a check but I don’t think it was right to just assume we should pay for all the food and drink they had! I don’t know I could be the one in the wrong but it drove me crazy! NCLM

  5. babyamore Says:

    Hi babystepper
    hi here again from NaComLeavCom
    My Little Drummer boys
    thanks for visiting me and good luck with starting IVF #3
    I was terrible remembering to sniff Synarel – i set my mobile (cell) phone to alarm to remind me.

    warm regards
    Trish

  6. Seriously? Says:

    I have had food poisioning it sucks. I seriously hope you are feeling better.

    About dinner, totally rude and uncalled for. If you invite people to join you for something like that you pay. I hate when people assume splitting things is ok. My husband doesn’t drink (I don’t drink often) and we have been out many times where the other couples were boozing it up. We finlally got sick of it and started speaking up we either request seperate checks early on or we put in only for what we ordered plus tax and tip. I do always tend to tip more than my friends because I was a waitress in grad school so I usually throw in more than my fair share.

    The only thing I can say, is that sometimes it is easier to just suck it up and not rock the boat then to upset anyone of “high power” in a social group. Don’t upset the popular kids, that’s how I made it through high school.

  7. Chris Says:

    First of all, I think you are a saint for paying for dinner like that. It was pretty nervy of her to expect payment! Secondly, I hope you are feeling better soon. A horrible stomach flu passed through these parts a few weeks ago. Ick. Again, I hope you are feeling better.

  8. deb Says:

    EEEEK! I guess the cornhole was not COMPLETELY cleaned out then, eh?

    I think that “A” is a shithead for expecting people to pay for something she “bought” and disguise it as a thoughful gesture. WTF is right. I would have not paid her (but that’s just me) and would not care if she never talked to me again. That was crappy (ooops-no crappy-stay in the cornhole)
    As far as the losing the mind – probably. Let’s be honest we have all lost at least one piece. You’ll get it back together.
    Now I wont even get started on passive aggressive moms – mine takes the prize there. I’ll let you have second place though. Your instincts are good – do all you can to stop her from “helping”.
    Now – the husband and the birthday gift…I have found (24 years married) that it is a good practice to tell him what I want (specifically) then also tell his best friend and my best friend. Too many people know for that to get screwed up. I have older sons too, so I tell them also. Everyone in the county if necessary. Hey, I love my freakin birthday and I want my presents (lol).

    Hope you both feel better soon.

  9. docgrumbles Says:

    Yuck. Feel better!

  10. Swim Says:

    Sorry you not feeling well. Hope your tummy settles down soon.

    Your friend A should have told you about the money. That was very rude. People like that frustrate me.

    My last IVF attempt, I almost forgot my follistim stim shot.

  11. Sharon LaMothe Says:

    Hey there from NCLM…and I have to say…I would have backed out…way out before I would have paid $100 bucks for something I didn’t even bid on! But seeings how you already did it…next month why not cook a dinner at YOUR house, invite ‘A’ and then a couple of days before the dinner party, ask for $100 …LOL…I wonder what would happen…actually I probably wouldn’t do this but would love to hear if someone DID do it!

    Hope you are feeling better soon! And I know what you mean about the meds…the third time you feel like you can give yourself the shots in your sleep!

    Hugs
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

