Mother’s Day

First off, thank you to KE and Blue Haired Woman for tagging me. I promise to get going on that ASAP, when I have a moment (hard to do long posts at work!)…

Mother’s Day was tough. What is the deal with random people saying, “Happy Mother’s Day” to me when I am walking around, minding my own business, without any kids with me?? It would be one thing if PT was with me, but of course she was with her mom on Mother’s Day. So — what is the deal? I want to tell people to mind their own business but I know they are just trying to be nice. It is amazing how these simple little comments can be so loaded for me now.

Even TW didn’t say “Happy Mother’s Day” to me, which really pissed me off. True, PT wasn’t here, but still. Have I not been an active participant in raising his child since she was FOUR YEARS OLD? So, the only people that said “Happy Mother’s Day” to me were strangers. And my Sister-in-Law sent me an e-card. Which was nice. Then my mom ruined it. We were having brunch and I told her that SIL sent me an e-card. And you know what my mom said? She said, “That is really strange”. WTF? No. It is really strange that no one acknowledges step-mothers on Mother’s Day. Not only that, it is even stranger that it is considered weird to acknowledge a step-mother on Mother’s Day. We were at a buffet brunch and right after that exchange my mom and dad left to get more food. I burst into tears and said, “I want to be a mom, I just can’t. It isn’t fair”. TW was supportive but at the same time I wanted to punch him in the eye for not acknowledging that I am a 1/2 time mom to his stupid kid.

God, the only thing that is keeping me going right now is the remodel. I am focusing on it a lot. Things are going to move quickly — the hard wood is going down and once it is stained (which should happen next week), everything is going to move, move, move. Like sinks and fixtures are going in, granite and stone floors, YAY. I am VERY excited. The only thing that sucks is that we built an extra room for a nursery and I have no idea if it will be used for that purpose or not. It is a cute little room with a big window and a nice sized closet. I guess I can put a treadmill and a TV/DVD in it, and maybe one of those big exercise balls and some free-weights. If I can’t get pregnant, I am going to get HOT. Instead of a MILF I will be an IFILF (Infertile-I’d-Like-To-Fuck).  Okay, I will think of that as a back-up plan in case things don’t work out. Ugh. So hard to stay positive.

Money is stressing me out right now. We are so far over budget I am wondering if a miracle happens, and I do get pregnant, how we will even afford a kid! TW is supposed to get a raise in December, and I should be getting one too. And once we move back into the big house, we can rent the cottage out. So that should all help. But it is still a little stressful.

Deep breaths.

4 Responses to “Mother’s Day”

  1. Heather Says:

    I’m glad you put deep breaths at the end because that is totally what I was going to say! You need to take a minute for you to relax!!

    I’m glad the remodel is going well.

    I do believe step mothers should be acknowledge – especially ones like you who are so active in the child’s life, and for so long.

    Families suck and boys are stupid. Don’t forget that – and do something nice for yourself!!

  2. docgrumbles Says:

    Happy Belated Mother’s Day to you – you deserve recognition, too!

  3. giantspeedbump Says:

    I celebrated Mother’s Day at the mall with my credit card. Malls are wonderfully empty on Mother’s Day.

  4. Pamela Jeanne Says:

    IFILF! I love it…! Brilliant!

    And, yes, what is the deal with the random Mother’s Day wishes? I got four of them and I was doing everything possible NOT to look matronly, nor did I have children anywhere close to me.

    Not cool that your man missed an opportunity to recognize your contribution. Bad husband!

    I’m hoping one day to have a remodel — if the contractors and surveyors ever manage to get back to us with bids and proposals. What happened to the building trades industry being down? Not the case here in the Bay area.

Leave a Reply

