In a funk

I have been in a funk since I heard “the news”. I got a letter from my IVF clinic and here is the gist of it:

Dear Babystep:

We are saddened that your IVF cycle did not result in a successful outcome again. Blah, Blah, Blah. La, La, La.

Despite your better response to stimulation this time, the rate of cell division and quality of the embryos were poorer than expected. Blah, Blah.

Most likely this points to a problem with egg quality, La, La, La.

You are still a candidate for IVF and can start as soon as your next menstrual period. The probability for success remains at 20-25%. Blah dee blah blah blah.

Sincerely,

Dr. P and Dr. S

My period ended a couple of days ago. When I get my next period I will go in for the lupron challenge test. Two down, two to go.

10 Responses to “In a funk”

  1. Cece Says:

    Yeah – that sucks. My letter was the same thing. Blah blah blah. Whatever. Bite me. Make me pregnant. I think a few glass of wine/beer/grain alcohol is in order.

  2. docgrumbles Says:

    Well, I hope trying again leads to very different news.

  3. docgrumbles Says:

    I did it again. I am working on a WordPress conversion.

    SaraS-P (soon to switch over to a more anonymous docgrumbles 😉

  4. Pamela Jeanne Says:

    They send that in a letter!? That’s harsh. Like you want to see those ideas staring back at you in print. And, yes, my friend the jealousy and bitterness does mitigate…but as with anything it takes time (and backsliding is, not surprisingly, involved).

  5. Amanda Says:

    I’m with Pamela Jeanne…they send that crap in a letter?! At least they could try to actually say it to you!!!

    I wish I could make this easier.

  6. Becks Says:

    Just stopped by via Leah’s blog. I am sorry things didn’t work, its just crap isn’t it? We are pretty similar in terms of a possible egg quality issue, I do hope we both beat the odds. Take care.

    Becks – soon to move to http://www.definitionofinsanity.wordpress.com

  7. Swim Says:

    I am also suprised that you get a letter?! I think I would have a hard time reading that in a letter, the words just staring back at me.

    Please take care of yourself and shake off the funk (although I know it is very hard to do as it has taken me two cycles to shake mine off).

  8. Freyja Says:

    Wow. A letter huh? I’d demand a face to face consult. But then I can be a bit difficult like that. ((HUGS))

  9. Kenna Says:

    Yeah, I’m with everyone on the letter. Not the best way to handle it doc.

  10. giantspeedbump Says:

    I’ve done 3 IVF’s and have never received a letter. Not even a phone call. I’d actually appreciate somebody reaching out in that way and acknowledging a loss – because that’s what a negative IVF is. Of course it would be nice if the letter said please come in and see us…but that is a little too pie in the sky, I suppose. Best of luck.

Leave a Reply

