Happy Valentine’s Day

I actually got flowers – last night. TW went to the grocery to pick up milk and came back with a little pot with a baby rose plant in it. It was sweet, I don’t think I have gotten flowers for valentine’s day from him before! Of course C at work got flowers as a surprise this morning at home and then she got two dozen roses delivered today! That girl gets flowers once a month or more – I kid you not. She is married to her highschool sweet heart, they have been together since they were 15 and they are now 25…they are too cute it makes me want to throw up.

Today I hosted a big event at work, and I am absolutely exhausted. The visitors are here for half the day tomorrow as well, and can I tell you that I have never been so happy to have a three day weekend. Although, next week I have to do it all again as we have another event on Thursday/Friday (and it may rain to make things even more interesting!). In any event, on my way home from work, I decided to pop into the grocery to pick up some surprises for TW and PT. I got Valentine’s cards, heart sugar cookies in pink and purple and their favorite sushi. I brought everything home and told PT that all I asked was to have two pieces of her sushi (out of the 12 in the tray). Well, about 15 minutes later I look at her and she is scarfing down the last piece of sushi. I was livid!!! Did I have the right to be livid? I asked her why she didn’t save me any and she said she forgot. TW rushed to her defense and said no one is perfect, and that we all forget things. I am sorry but I don’t forget things! Truly, Truly, I don’t forget things. Ever. I almost started crying…I feel so forgotten so often!

Then I felt like a total bitch because PT is sick. She didn’t say anything, but she sounded congested and she kept asking if she could go to bed (which is HIGHLY unusual because she usually fights to stay up as late as we will let her). I thought she was trying to avoid studying and doing homework, but I finally broke out the digital thermometer (actually, my BBT thermometer that I don’t use anymore) and she has a fever of 102.7!!

Anyway, I guess the good news is that TW was able to deliver his back-up sperm sample without a hitch today. The IVF clinic called to tell me they got two vials and everything looks good. That made me breathe a little easier because I know TW won’t be around for my procedures. I lined up a good friend instead. And PT is with her mom. So I will take a couple of days off, read trashy mags and gab with my friend, watch episodes of My So Called Life, and movies from the DVR like Never Been Kissed, Lucky 7 (A favorite Lifetime Movie), and Overboard – that classic with Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell.

My last BCP is tonight — continue Lupron through trigger the week of 3/2. I start stimming on 2/22 as long as everything looks good at baseline on 2/20.

4 Responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day”

  1. Ashley Bass Says:

    Sorry teenagers can be so unthoughtful! :\ Good luck with everything while TW is away! I am glad you have some good friends to help you out.

  2. PamelaJeanne Says:

    Had to laugh at TW’s to-do list: 1) Interfere with myself 2) Drop said sperm off 3) Pretend like this is a normal activity.

  3. Kona Says:

    It’s hard being the thoughtful person who gives and doesn’t get back. Giving is a great feeling, but it is only normal to want to feel special too. You have so much going on with the event at work, IVF, etc. It has to be super stressful! Teens and kids in general are known for being self involved. I am glad DH got his part done for the big day. Good luck!!!! I mean it. I hope you enjoy hanging with your friend and reading mags & watching movies (I have seen that Goldie Hawn movie a bunch of times…can’t explain the appeal, but somehow I can always watch it again.LOL). Happy belated Valentine’s Day.I am glad you got flowers this year. You deserve it. 🙂

  4. Freyja Says:

    I have a coworker who is like that with his wife. They’re so cute it’s annoying. Whenever he’s on the phone with her he wispers in this cutsie cutsie voice that makes we mant to gag. And he always has to leave work early on Valentines and Sweetest Day and thier anniversary and her birthday… I dunno, maybe I’m a sourpuss but that is all just a bit much for me.

    As for the kid eating all the sushi… I am the oldest of 3 kids. My mother was a certified dietician before a SAHM. Ironically, growing up, our house was always overflowing with junk food. There was always a cornucopia of Little Debbie snacks and Hostess products. Perhaps as some kind of reaction agains this veil diet, I’ve never had much of a sweet tooth. On one morning though, I decided I wanted one of the prepackaged 2-packs of iced, cinnamin sweet rolls. My mom told me I couldn’t have it becuase it was for her “kids”. (Yes this is my bio mom.) I’m 4 years older than my sister and 9 years older than my brother and she did that reasonably often, especially with food. I think there’s something really deeply ingrained, almost instinctually, about sharing food. (To prove it, just think about how having a dinner for someone is a standard ceremonial activity.) So when those who are closest to us don’t want to share food with us, it makes us feel unloved. Maybe I’m totally in left field but that is genuinely what I think.

Leave a Reply

