6 things about me

Sorry I have been MIA. There really isn’t much to report.

I have been thinking a lot about this girl at work. About 1 year ago, I overheard her at a meeting, asking this other woman whether they could chat because she was thinking about having babies and wanted to know how it was with work/baby balance. The woman she was talking to has two small kids and they do very similar jobs. I see this girl twice a month at a staff meeting, and we chat on the phone a couple of times a week for work related stuff. We get along really well, she is super nice. Anyway, I took it upon myself to ask her about her TTC life, since I was standing right there when she brought it up. She was very excited and optimistic. The next time we saw each other at a meeting, she was drinking a glass of orange juice and whispered, “Guess why I am drinking orange juice!”. I thought she was already preggo after one month! But she told me she was just trying to boost her follic acid intake.

Anyway, we had several conversations about TTC from that point forward. I even gave her the CD from my Taking Charge of Your Fertility Book. She went on a trip with her husband to Hawaii for 10 days and was certain it would happen then. When I would see her, she would check in with me, and I would check in with her. After 5 months she said she was taking a break, and now another 6 months have passed, and she barely talks to me. I have dropped the subject completely when I see her.

I am wondering whether I should leave her alone, or check in with her again? It has been over 6 months since we last spoke about it. She doesn’t know that I did IVF and that I am still trying. If you were in her situation, would you want to hear from me? Or should I just let it go?

On another note, Trace tagged me!

The Rules:
1) Link to the person that tagged you.
2) Post the rules on your blog.
3) Share six non-important things/habits/quirks about yourself.
4) Tag at least three people at the end of your post and link to their blogs.
5) Let each person know they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.
6) Let the fun begin!

Here are my 6 things…I already did 8 things a while ago so I will try to think of 6 new ones.

1.     One of my first words as a baby was, “SHIT”. I have the worst potty mouth! And I started young! One of my mom’s favorite stories to tell: She brought me in to the pediatrician for a check-up when I was about 18 months old. The doctor dropped his clip board and I yelled, “Oh shit!” in my cute baby voice. My mom was SO embarrassed! The doctor looked at her and said, “Hmmm. I wonder where she learned that?”

2.    After years and years of TTC, I used my favorite boy baby name for my puppy (well, my 2nd favorite name — my first two favorite names were STOLEN by my brother’s sister-in-law. That is a story for another time).

3.     When we order pizza (my favorite is combo with everything!), I stealthily take some toppings off other pieces and put them on my own piece! So rude! And, no wonder I have 15 pounds to lose!

4.     I kissed a girl once. A bunch of us were at a wine/craft street fair and we all had too much wine. She was bisexual and I guess she took a liking to me (this was way pre-marriage for me, but I did have a boyfriend!!). I was very tipsy. She walked me to my car and kissed me. Like a real, lingering, kiss. I have to say I didn’t hate it! But that was the end of it, I never saw her again.

5.    I hate oatmeal. I also hate root beer and coke (and pepsi). Even if I was starving to death or dying of thirst, I would rather perish than partake.

6.     If I find a hair on my plate in a restaurant, I usually just pick it out and eat my food. I don’t have the patience to return the plate and get a new one, especially if I am hungry (and I am ALWAYS hungry). And I haven’t gotten sick yet. I know it is really gross, but you have to wonder what other crap is in the food that you never see. But my immune system is pretty hardy. I don’t usually even mention it to the people I am with, because they would make a big deal out of it and I would feel weird not returning the food!

Those are my 6 things. Now I want to see yours: Kim, Heather, and Amy R!!!

6 Responses to “6 things about me”

  1. Trace Says:

    I never kissed a girl, but there was a little experimentation. Yup college.

    My husband had a similar experience when he was a kid he drove across the U.S. w/a bunch relatives and his parents. At one of the hotels after being in the car all day he sprawled on the bed and said something like “f*uck this feels good” and according to in-law family lore they had to leave the room so the didn’t laugh.

  2. Amy R Says:

    Thanks for tagging me! I’ll do it soon; I promise! Regarding your coworker- my two cents is to not ask anything. If she wants to say something, I’m sure she will. The only reason why I say this is because a few days ago one of my female coworkers who knew about IVF #1, asked me what my plans were. I just about froze; its not something I wanted to discuss with anyone at work ever again and felt a bit taken aback that she asked such a personal question, even though I know her intentions were good.

  3. babystep Says:

    Amy R- Thanks for your input. I guess I was just thinking that I would let her know that I am still TTC and that if she is going through any tough stuff, I have been through it all and would be a good ear. But you are probably right, I will keep my mouth shut.

  4. PamelaJeanne Says:

    Your story about your colleague is a tough one. I’m sure she’s feeling more than a bit embarrassed about her casual confidence on the fertility front. If she seems to be avoiding you (and by association the topic) I think I’d give her some space and hang back. It’s hard enough to talk about this stuff online or outside of the office, so I’m guessing she needs the workplace as a “safe zone” where she doesn’t have to think too hard about it. I know I did.

    Even today, after working through issues I still sometimes tear up just reading IF blogs at my desk during lunch or down times. Clearly IF has a way of upsetting us even when we think we’ve got it under control. That said, I’d led her lead the conversation when she’s ready but certainly do continue to be friendly and supportive in the way leaves her open to raise the subject.

    As for your list of six. Some interesting stuff here! Thanks for sharing 😉

  5. sarasp Says:

    After working in food service in high school, and thus learning how often there is hair in food, I too often just let it go. I sometimes don’t wash fruit, either. Hunger is stronger than cleanliness in me.

    And I’ve used up baby names on pets, computer game characters, and characters in stories. Why let them go to waste?

    As for your friend, I might see if she contacts you. You never know how one is feeling during the messy TTC process.

  6. lub Says:

    Great tag! I agree- eat your food unless there is a bug, then I guess I’d return it. I would let the girl at work come to you. It could be that she doesn’t want TTC and IF to be all you guys talk about- especially if she is struggling.

Leave a Reply

