Happy Endings

Sometimes I feel like I am “getting over” the baby obsession but other days I know I am kidding myself.

I went to my friend J1’s house. Her brother is visiting with his nearly two year old, and her sister adopted a baby three months ago. It was great seeing the little ones but also hard at the same time. I held little H, the three month old baby, and fed him and burped him, and watched him smile. He can hold his head up and he is alert and happy and adorable. I danced with S, the two year old. It is so cute how toddlers feel the music and something takes over and they just have to dance!

I also got pictures of my other friend J2’s new nephew who was born on 12/21. And my friend Kona that I met on-line about a year and a half ago had her baby on 12/27. Lots and lots of babies. And it is so bittersweet for me.

I am so happy for all of these new additions. J1’s brother got married “late” and his wife is 46 years old. They had problems conceiving at first (two miscarriages) and tried treatment (IUIs) to no avail. And then voila, they got pregnant naturally and had a beautiful baby girl in February 2006.

J1’s sister tried to conceive for five years via IUIs and donor sperm. Nothing happened. She did the home study for adoption three years ago and has been waiting ever since. Finally she brought a perfect baby boy home three months ago. He was only a day old when she got him from the hospital. So happy!

Kona went through a lot — she conceived the old fashioned way but had to terminate at 19 weeks because the baby had so many medical issues. It was so tragic. She had a chemical pregnancy a few months later, and then got pregnant for the third time. Third time is a charm because she brought home her daughter a couple of weeks ago, and she is beautiful. I couldn’t be happier for her.

J2’s sister was told she would never conceive naturally, and probably wouldn’t be able to carry a baby to term. She had terrible fibroid tumors and scarring all over her ovaries and uterus. She got married at 40 and got pregnant almost immediately, but she miscarried during the first trimester. She got pregnant again and carried to full term, and had her baby on December 21st by c-section.

All these stories, all involving IF and miscarriage and heartache. All with happy endings.

Where is my happy ending? Will I get a happy ending?

8 Responses to “Happy Endings”

  1. Kona Says:

    ((((Baby Step))))-
    Sending love to you. I want you to have a happy ending too!!!
    I’m sad your little baby isn’t here yet. But I keep praying & hoping that he/she will come to you soon.

  2. yodasmistress Says:

    I don’t know. But I hope so. (((HUGS)))

  3. Amanda Says:

    I hope so too. We all deserve a happy ending.

  4. Serenity Says:

    I really, really hope so, hon.

    *hug*

  5. Pamela Jeanne Says:

    Those are some serious beat the odds stories. My mouth is still hanging open. I hope you get to join them with your own very, very soon.

  6. Alla Says:

    thanks for posting the ‘happy ending’ stories… I sincerely hope you’ll be one of them as well! 🙂

  7. swim Says:

    Wow.. that is alot of babies and a lot of odds these ladies beat. I’m hopeful for all of us this year. 🙂

  8. loribeth61 Says:

    I’d like to know the answer to that one myself…! Hang in there…

Leave a Reply

