I am back!

I have no real reason for my long absence. Part of it was being on vacation – I took a vacation from work, and from all things TTC. I didn’t even take my pre-natals or my herbs!!! I wasn’t on the computer that much, and even when I thought about posting, I either wasn’t in the mood, or I couldn’t think of anything to say!

We went to NYC from 12/19 – 12/23 and although it was a super quick trip, we had a really great time. I always love seeing my little brother, and his wife was on her best behavior. PT had a really nice time, and the trip was really tailored for her…we went ice skating in Central Park, went to Rockefeller Center, window shopping on 5th Avenue, Natural History Museum, saw the Cirque de Soleil show in Madison Square Garden, had a couple of nice dinners out…hotel was great…it was really fun! It was cold but not TOO cold, we could survive walking around in jeans as long as we had our warm socks, hats, gloves, scarves on. We had three full days in NYC which really wasn’t enough, especially in retrospect…the thought of spending too much time with my SIL was too much to bear but she was really nice. I think the holidays bring out the best in her.

We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas Day at home. PT was with us on Christmas Eve (she went to her mom’s at 9am on Christmas Day), so we went to my FIL’s house for the tree, presents, dinner on the 24th. My SIL was there (the other SIL – TW’s sister), and she was moderately well behaved. She seemed to enjoy the (crap) gifts I got her from Ross-Dress-4-Less. I put my foot down this year. I refused to spend lots of money on nice things for her and get used crap in return. So Ross it is from this point forward!

I got a new laptop for Christmas from TW. I love it. He was funny though because last year he got me a flat screen monitor and a back-up hard drive. Yeah. Not such a great gift. I ended up bursting into tears when I opened the gifts. So this year before he bought the laptop, he asked my permission about 15 times! I was all for it! Our old computer is about 7 years old and on its last legs, I keep worrying it will crash any moment. We also got wireless internet, so I can sit anywhere in the house and post to my blog! 🙂

On the 26th I went up to the Mountains with my girlfriend M. We brought my doggie and basically did a whole lot of nothing for 5 days. We played Scrabble (I finally met my match!), went on hikes in the snow, watched movies, drank wine, gabbed (LOTS of gabbing), cooked good food, slept. It was blissful! Got back on 12/30 and hung out with TW (he was in the mid-west for some training from 12/26-12/30). NYE we went to my FIL’s (just TW and me) and hung out until about 9pm. We got home at 9:30 and I was crashed out by 10pm. My puppy ran outside at midnight on the dot to bark in the New Year! (TW is trying to convince me that there was someone yelling outside, and that was why he was barking, but I didn’t here anything!). On 1/1 PT came back from her mom’s. Today I am back at work, for the first time since 12/18. GAG. The weird thing is that I love my job. But after such an extended break, it sure is hard to come back!

What else…my puppy is having surgery tomorrow for a hernia that he was born with. It doesn’t seem to bother him but our vet has convinced me that it may cause trouble in the future. Poor puppy. So, while he is there, I am having his teeth cleaned, his nails trimmed and his ears cleaned. He will be like a new pup when he gets back! He will have one those cones on for a few days, so I am glad I will be home with him on the weekend. I got some $$ from my parents for Christmas – I was hoping to buy something fun, but I guess surgery for my puppy will be my Christmas present from my parents. Oh well!

Is it weird that I keep thinking I could get pregnant on my own? Something is up with TW. He can’t get enough of me lately. It is like now that he knows I am infertile, he wants to play all the time! (I am sure that has nothing to do with it)…but there is something to be said. I mean, when I was obsessed with timed intercourse, he was so resistant, like a 16 year old virgin girl. Now we just have sex for fun. But in the back of my mind….I wonder…maybe a miracle can occur?

I blew off the day 3 blood work for our next IVF. I was supposed to call when my period showed, but I was in the mountains. I would have been back on CD3 but I decided to wait it out another month. I want to get back into my acupuncture routine and I need to be better about taking the herbs. So, I will call them next cycle. This cycle, we will just play around, no ART!

I hope everyone had fabulous holidays and I wish you all the very best in 2008. I hope that all our wishes come true.

 xoxoxoxo

6 Responses to “I am back!”

  1. yodasmistress Says:

    Sounds like your time off was divine!

    (And a giant WOOT!!! for mad monkey lovin’!)

  2. PamelaJeanne Says:

    Hey! Great to have you back. Been thinking about you and wondering how you were doing. Sounds like an absolutely fabulous couple of weeks off. I found myself craving to be in your shoes as I read along. (I was away from the office for the same amount of time but 18 straight days of visiting relatives or being in someone else’s house wasn’t exactly my idea of a vacation — with jetlag and a bad cold as icing on the cake. Sigh. I’m two hours into having a relative-free house and I can’t wait to just sit in a corner and stare off into space…)

    Okay…now back to you. Wishing you continued goodness and happiness in 2008 you frisky couple you!

  3. Trace Says:

    It sounds like you had an AWESOME holiday!!! Enjoy the time away from the fertility junk and enjoy the nookie ;-).

  4. sarasp Says:

    New laptop and time in the mountains? Lucky!

    Enjoy your break.

  5. Malky B. Says:

    Glad your back and enjoyed your time in NY (my hometown) and your stay in the mountains. Enjoy your break from ART – we are on a much needed break as well.

  6. swim Says:

    Welcome back! Glad you enjoyed your holidays and your trip to NYC. Who knows maybe you passed me on the streets as I work a block from Rockefeller center.

    It’s nice to take a break from ART and just enjoy quality time with your DH (wink wink).

Leave a Reply

