Giving Thanks…

4dp3dt

Yesterday I went out to breakfast with my husband. We spent the WHOLE day together, we haven’t done that in a very long time. And it was really nice. At breakfast, I ordered home-made corned beef hash and eggs. When I got my order, I noticed that there was one little green pea on the side of the plate. There were no peas in my order! So it must have hitchhiked from another plate. But I took it as a sign! I showed it to TW and said, “I have a pea in the pod!”. I put it inside an empty sugar packet and folded it up gently in there. Then I put it inside another empty sugar packet and put it in my pocket. That is how crazy I am. I brought it home and placed it in a safe place. I don’t want anything to happen to my pea.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

It is Thanksgiving. I have been pondering for a long time now. I do have so many things to be thankful for. And I have to go there. I have to go to that place, the possible future without children. I have to think about it because it is a reality I may have to deal with….some day. And for me to go there, I need to focus on what I am thankful for. I have a good life. I have a better than good life.

++Both my parents are alive and kicking, and they love me very much even though they live far, far away.

++My brother also lives far from me, but we are very close and we talk once a week (he calls it his parole call)

++I met the man of my dreams (and sometimes my nightmares!) later in life, but I knew that he was the one. And we have built a pretty damn good life together. Even though we have our “moments” we are good together. And I know it is going to last forever.

++My step-daughter came into my life at such a young age that she doesn’t remember a life without me. I know she loves me very much, and I love her too.

++My puppy “Sutter” brings more joy to me than I can explain. Even when I am in pain, I can smile when he is in the room with me.

++I have a job that I LOVE. With people I like to be with 8+ hours a day. With the flexibility to do these ART cycles. And the potential flexibility to work from home when I have babies.

++I am thankful that we have the financial means to attempt ART, cycle after cycle. Without insurance coverage. We would have had to give up long ago otherwise.

++My Father-in-Law is a wonderful man. He has given us the home we live in now, in a neighborhood that would have been completely out of reach for us. And he has allowed us to remodel it into my dream house (which will be done some day, I hope!)

++I have so many friends that love me very much. I also make new friends everywhere I go. People like me, everyone likes me (Sorry, this sounded very “Stuart Smalley“!)

++I have many talents. I can paint, I can cook like a gourmet, I can do math, I can write, I can sing.

++I know it is cliche, but I have my health (no mention of 38 year old eggs)

++This is vain, but I like the way I look. I could stand to lose a few pounds, but everything else is pretty good. Finally. It took me YEARS to get here, to finally be comfortable with my physical appearance and not compare myself to everyone else! And I am blessed with dark, dark hair that hasn’t had a single gray hair yet! 🙂

++I have the ability to laugh, hard, until tears fill my eyes. I do this almost every day.

++I see beauty everywhere I look.

If I am not blessed with children, I have so much to be thankful for. I know I will be okay.

2 Responses to “Giving Thanks…”

  1. sarasp Says:

    That’s a great way to frame everything.

    NO, I don’t have a little one for all the family to come and visit, but I do have my crazy family and my friends. Many don’t even have that much.

    Happy Belated Thanksgiving.

    Maybe next year there will be a little something extra to be thankful for.

  2. Pamela Jeanne Says:

    Thanks for this post. It’s a good reminder that there are many things that can add up to a good life. And I loved the pea story. Glad you had such a great day together.

Leave a Reply

