Fert Report

Today was ROUGH. I was on pins and needles anyway, and I am sure that my hormones are still juiced up from the left over Folli.stim and HCG shot. And I was super sore in my tummy, achy, crampy. And although I realize that 7 eggs is not a horrible outcome, I couldn’t shake the feeling that it could have been better. I know I said that my new motto is “It is what it is” – but who am I kidding! I can’t let go that easily.

My clinic said they would e-mail me the fert report first thing in the morning. I started checking my e-mail every 15 minutes beginning at 8am. By 10:30am, I was starting to get really nervous. At 10:45, the foreman of the construction crew knocked on the door. They had to turn off our power! In 5 minutes! That meant: no computer and no phone. Our phone is cordless and although we have a back-up phone for power outages, I have no idea where it is (we packed everything up and put it in storage). TW has a laptop with a wireless card, but the connection is so horrible, my e-mail wouldn’t load. My cell phone only works intermittently in a 1 square inch of the house…we live in a cell phone dead zone.

I was spinning into outer orbit. Worked myself into a lather, thinking the worst. My clinic ALWAYS sends their e-mails hours before they say they will. Why wouldn’t they send it? It must be because our eggs died. Or they dropped them on the floor. Or they didn’t fertilize at all. I was completely and totally convinced we had no eggs. I finally managed to get through to the clinic on my cell phone (practically balancing on one foot on the dining table, the only place I got reception!), but the woman who answered told me I had to talk to Dr. S. She said she would give him the message, but he had just gone into a new patient consult. I know from experience that the consult lasts 2 hours.

TW was out. By the time he came back, I was hysterical. He walked in the door and I burst into tears. I could barely talk, I was sobbing so hard. TW and I are on opposite poles of the emotional spectrum. He is calm and cool, I am manic and crazy. He told me there must be a good reason they hadn’t e-mailed or called. And I said, “YES! Because they got 7 gerbil eggs out of me and they won’t fertilize with your human sperm!” He told me to be patient, but obviously that wasn’t an option. I told him to call the clinic (his cell phone works better than mine). He got through and they put Dr. S on the line. I was hovering over him and TW took notes as he spoke….my heart was beating out of my chest.

TW got off the phone and said: ALL 7 EGGS FERTILIZED!!!

Our Embryo transfer is on Sunday morning at 10am.

OMG.

I went shopping with my friend H and bought this shirt from the Gap:

2weeks.jpg

I am going to wear it to bed every night from Sunday until my beta. Wish us luck.

11 Responses to “Fert Report”

  1. Yodasmistress Says:

    Freaking fantasitic!!!!

    P.S. I laughed when I read this: โ€œYES! Because they got 7 gerbil eggs out of me and they wonโ€™t fertilize with your human sperm!โ€

  2. Pamela Jeanne Says:

    You poor thing to be tortured all morning. I may need to give you my cell phone number so that in the future I can talk you down from the ledge. Congrats on the lucky seven all fertilizing!!! Will be thinking extra hard with positive thoughts since I’m the same time zone …now I hope you’re getting some great rest and relaxation…and I hope the Valium comes as part of your transfer — one of the highlights still for me ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Trace Says:

    Oh my gosh!! Good luck!

  4. Kim Says:

    Holy crap, way to grow!!!

    And yeah, I’m with Pamela, stay away from any ledges next time and tell them to send you your message telepathically!

  5. Leah Says:

    Wow, that is WONDERFUL!! I too cracked up at the gerbil egg comment. That is just hilarious. Take it easy today and get ready to welcome your embies back to where they belong tomorrow — in their Mom!

  6. lub Says:

    OMG. I am so excited for you. All 7! Lucky 7!!!!!!!! You have got to be so psyched. I know that saying, “it is what it is…” but just so you know- after my IUI I sat more than I stood and put my feet up whenever I could. It didn’t hurt- that’s for sure! I am praying so hard for you! Thanks also for the award! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Erin Says:

    Hurray!!! So Awesome! That’s great news and I can’t wait to hear how things go tomorrow! Love the shirt.

  8. kona Says:

    Oh, BabyStep! You sweet girl! Good luck!!!! I know it’s a rough road…I love reading your descriptions and reactions. You are so dramatic. It’s very funny, as I can relate to being an emotional basket case (DH says being with me is like riding a roller coaster with all the ups & downs), even if I haven’t been through the same experience.Look at it this way- you will also feel such immense joy and excitement when your good news keeps rolling in! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I can hardly wait! Emotions are powerful things. Will be thinking of you on Sunday!!!

    Kona

  9. missedconceptions Says:

    HOOOOOORAY!!

    That is fantastic!!!!!

    We like you because you are so emotional, so don’t worry!!

  10. sarasp Says:

    How symbolic (the shirt)!

  11. Heather Says:

    I love that shirt!!

    Where did you get it?

Leave a Reply

