Follie Report

badge_of_bravery2.jpg

First of all, Jenna and Pamela Jean have nominated me for the Blogger Flame of Fortitude Award (Click on Jenna’s link to read about the award). In turn, I would like to nominate the following bloggers, for perservering in the face of so many obstacles, keeping a sense of humor, and having room in their hearts despite so much personal angst, to offer support and love to their fellow bloggers. Missed Conceptions, Cece, Chris, Lub, Serenity, Lara, SarahS-PYodasmistress. There are many more that I read and love. If you haven’t stopped by their blogs lately, please do so, and say hello!

Okay – about me. Today I had an acupuncture appointment at 7:30am. I couldn’t relax. It was the first time that I was in acupuncture and my head was spinning, my mind couldn’t stop. I was so nervous about what the clinic would say at my follie report!

I had my follie check at 10:30am. Dr. P was not in the office, so I got to meet Dr. S. He is so wonderful! I actually wish Dr. S was my main doctor instead of Dr. P. They are both great, but I like Dr. S’s personality better – he seems much more warm and he has a twinkle in his eye. He checked me out with the dildo cam and saw that my lining is 13mm. I think that is good. My blood work came back at 852 (E2), up from 180 on Thursday.

But the follie count was not as high as I hoped. I have 4 on one side and 3 on the other, with two more lagging a little behind that may or may not catch up. The biggest one was almost 18mm and then there were several at 15mm and one at 11mm and one at 10mm.

He said they hope for 8-14 follies so I am right on on target. That is funny because I already feel like a failure. I only have 8, maybe. Dr. S was very positive; he had no issues with how things look. He said that my lining is excellent. I am just worried! I worry they will only get 7 or 8 eggs, and only 4 will fertilize and two will make it to day three. I know – I am jumping ahead here. But I am such a gloom and doom girl, I can’t help it. I wanted LOTS of eggs, LOTS of embies, LOTS to freeze. But it doesn’t look like it is going to happen this time. I wonder if ones body always responds the same way? If 8 is my number, will 8 always be my number?

The ER date is now probably Thursday or Friday. I have to say, I feel a little disappointed! I had to tell my friend M and I almost started crying. Knowing that TW isn’t in it emotionally, I was looking forward to spending the day with M. I hope that TW doesn’t disappoint me. The other stressor is that PT is with us this week, so we are going to have to figure out the logistics of the day — how I get to the clinic, how TW gets his “stuff” into the cup, dropping PT off at school. I asked the clinic to try and put us as late as possible. 10am would be perfect.

I have another appointment in the morning at 8:45am to check things again. I will keep you posted! I keep telling myself that this first IVF cycle is a trial run, but obviously I have not convinced myself of that yet.

8 Responses to “Follie Report”

  1. Kim Says:

    I’m doom and gloom also, so I feel for ya. Just think, some women only get 3-5, and you’re way ahead of that. I’ll be hoping/wishing/praying that they all grow perfectly and that the ER goes well!

  2. Yodasmistress Says:

    You’re too kind to me.

    As for your follies – I think 8-ish is a good number. I’m not expert but I am a chronic, abitual, OCD-adicted IF web-surfer and I’m pretty sure that is a good number.

    As for your question of “if ones body always responds the same way? If 8 is my number, will 8 always be my number?” – I’m pretty sure the answer to that is No. It is my understanding that ceteris paribus (i.e., meds are the same) the body will respond differently from one cycle to the next. I have “witnessed” this with various friends online. Trying to think of people you “know” – I’m not positive but I think Kami actually had drastically different numbers of eggs harvested betwee her various cycles.

    I know my words are asy for me to say but try not to worry.: while it might not be as many as you would like, you’ve got a good number of follies, your E2 is rising on par for the number of follies and your lining is a nice size.

    (((HUGS)))

  3. Malky B. Says:

    I think 8 is a pretty good number. Better to have 8 decent eggs than 30 crappy eggs. Also, if you have too many your more at risk for OHSS and that’s something you really don’t want. Try to think positivity.

  4. Pamela Jeanne Says:

    Well deserved honor!

    Remember that things change all throughout the cycle so I’d not get too worked up. It’s quality over quantity that matters in the long run. Wishing you all the best.

  5. Cece Says:

    Sure – you have 8 measurable – that may seem like not a lot – but by the time you actaully go for the ER, all the little ones will catch up. I bet you end up with 12 or more retrieved! Most clinics will go through with the ER with as little as 4 measurable. You are in great shape.

    Thanks for the nomination!

  6. SaraS-P Says:

    It would be great for it NOT to be a trial run! I am no IVF expert, but I think 8 is a decent number. To quote much assvice, “You only need one…”

    Thanks for the nod!

  7. kona Says:

    BabyStep-
    Good luck wishes for Thursday or Friday!! 😉 Remember, the # of follies/eggs may not be as important as the quality…so think positive that your 8 are all wonderful, top notch eggs! I know the gloom & doom creeps in…it’s something I struggle with, too (a defense mechanism from getting your hopes too high perhaps). Try not to let the fear overtake you.

    I’m glad you liked the other doctor (the partner of your regular doc). Isn’t it so nice when someone has a little warmth and compassion in addition to their medical skill? Skill is of course of utmost importance, but I love it when a doc is *human* and kind. 😉 It’s so stressful being a patient…and feeling like you have no control over your body and what it is doing. You are doing all you can to make this go great…accupuncture, trying to get emotional support where you can, taking care of yourself, etc! Try to visualize a positive outcome if you can! 🙂 I will be thinking of you and rooting for your little eggs!!

  8. Lara Says:

    The first couple of IVF cycles are the doctor trying to figure out the correct “recipe” for you to get a lot of eggs! Don’t stress it too hard! You certainly don’t look like a candidate for cancellation to me and I think you’re doing great!!! Thanks also for the award!!! 🙂 Lara

Leave a Reply

