Would you cry? Or is it just me….

First of all, I forgot to take my BCP yesterday morning (my last one!). I was completely stressed out about it, and was tempted to march out of work, drive all the way home, and take it. Then I decided to be rational (yes, I can still do that sometimes!) and called the IVF clinic. The nurse told me not to worry, just to take it when I get home. Yay. I haven’t managed to forget the shots yet, so that is good!

Okay, so here is what happened this morning while I was getting ready for work. Bailey (the choco lab puppy who comes with the contractor) came prancing through the dog door as usual, this time while I was in the shower. When I got out, the dogs were outside playing. I started to make the bed and I noticed that my teddy bear that I have had since I was a baby (my mom’s friend got it for me for my first birthday and I still sleep with it!) was missing from the bed. I just KNEW it wasn’t good. I made TW go outside to look and sure enough it was outside. The face had been eaten off and there is a huge hole in the butt, and it was covered in dirt and grime and slime. I bawled non-stop for about 1/2 an hour and was late for work. I am still almost crying just thinking about my poor teddy bear. I am not sure if this is normal for a 38 year old woman to cry over a stuffed animal, but I can’t help it. 😦 I know it wasn’t my dog’s fault because he is past the puppy stage of chewing and stealing everything and he has left the teddy bear alone for the last 6 months(thank Goodness!), so it was definitely Bailey. I took it out on my puppy though…he came in when I was crying and I said, “Bad Dog” and wouldn’t let him near me. TW had to intervene. I know that wasn’t fair of me, poor puppy. Ack. I am a total mess.

11 Responses to “Would you cry? Or is it just me….”

  1. Trace Says:

    I’ve had similar incidents w/my dog, a yellow lab, maybe it’s something w/labs? I came here through “we are what we repeatedly do” and I noticed you commented and said you have male infertility. My husband is infertile so we’re pursuing donor insemination. Hope you don’t mind if I follow your journey?

  2. bleu Says:

    I would cry even if not souped up on hormones. It is a lifelong treasure. I would have gone off on the contractor.

  3. Michelle Says:

    I would cry too. I have a hippo that means the same to me. Once I got sick all over it (too much to drink) and freaked out because I thought it was a total gonner. I fixed it though and I bet you can do it too! Good luck and I hope that your baseline goes well. πŸ™‚

  4. sarasp Says:

    I would totally cry. I have a stuffed animal from my toddlerhood that I would be devestated to have mutilated like that.

  5. kona Says:

    (((Hugs)))

  6. Yodasmistress Says:

    Not saying the crying is “normal” per se, but I would have cried too. So at least you know you’re not the ONLY one. πŸ˜‰

  7. caligal Says:

    You poor thing. Macy did this to a little stuffed cow that was the last thing my mom gave me before she died. Have a couple of good cries over it and take a couple of deep breaths to clear your head a bit. I bet you can do a little stuffed animal recovery & reconstructive surgery. If you can’t, I might be able to help…

  8. Rebecca Says:

    I have definitely cried over a lot less- I’m so sorry this happened! Poor little teddy, my heart goes out to him and you.
    I’m doing better than I was yesterday after my meltdown. I am doing injectibles on a “natural cycle”, exactly like you said. I am also freaked out about OHSS – the worries never end!

  9. missedconceptions Says:

    Babystep,

    They have stuffed animal and doll hospitals that can repair accidents like this. My neighbor had something similar happen, and they were able to repair it reasonably well.

    Look up “doll repair” or “toy repair” in the phone book.

    I would cry, too.

    MC

  10. Jenna Says:

    Sad. I read this and immediately thought of Fluffy, a matted yellow bear/lamb thing I got from my baptism… That thing has had chicken pox, lice, flus… oh dear, I’d do more than cry! Sorry lovey. That’s just horrible.

  11. Amy Says:

    I would definitely cry. My teddy bear is my most precious possession. As a matter of fact, although he is badly in need of repair, I would not entrust him to anyone for repair, feeling superstitious that if I did that, somehow I would hear back that my teddy bear had been “misplaced” or lost. No way, I could not risk that! He represents so many years of feelings, both happy and sad.

Leave a Reply

