Books – any suggestions (NON-IF books please!)

I usually read a lot of fun stuff over the summer, and this summer I was so busy getting ready for the remodel and dealing with IF that I just didn’t do it. My 36 hour stint without TV made me realize I am totally addicted. I need to start reading again… fun stuff – I like reading light hearted novels, but they have to be written well, good imagery, good character development…I like Jennifer Weiner (“In her Shoes”, “Good in Bed”), Elizabeth Berg (“Never Change”), I LOVED the Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kid (I also read “The Mermaid Chair” but didn’t like it as much). Oh, I guess not all my favorites are light hearted, I absolutely devoured “The Lovely Bones” by Alice Sebold, I hear it will be a movie soon (I always get scared to see a movie after I love the book because usually the casting bugs me and if the story line gets changed at all, I feel ripped off). I read Khaled Hosseini’s “Kite Runner” two summers ago and thought it was heart wrenching but beautiful – I read his second book this summer (A Thousand Splendid Suns) and it was pretty good too (but not as good as the Kite Runner). I also loved the “Time Traveler’s Wife” by Audrey Niffenegger.

Okay, so I basically just gave you a reading list of my most recent faves. I would love to hear your list so I can start reading again! What are the best books you have read recently?

3 Responses to “Books – any suggestions (NON-IF books please!)”

  1. kona Says:

    Oh, I loved the Secret Life of Bees & The Kite Runner too! I didn’t care for Time Traveler’s Wife so much (too much time travel- it was confusing). I started reading the Notebook while on jury duty a week or two back. It’s not bad. Not a GREAT read, but kind of interesting. I’ve been busy with other things, and haven’t finished it, but I read 3/4 of it while waiting for my jury duty in that crowd of potential jurors. 😉 One of my favorite books is A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson. It’s a hilarious nonfiction read if you’ve ever done any hiking or backpacking!! You can relate to some of the crazy stuff that happens. I also read a sweet little nonfiction book, called If I Live to Be 100. It’s interviews with the well elderly who are 100 years old. Interesting to hear what they have to say after 100 years of life experience. 😉

  2. Rebecca Says:

    I loved The Time Traveler’s Wife! I couldn’t remember the last time a book made me feel like that. Did you read Curtis Sittenfeld’s Prep? It was fantastic and dark and great. I just read her follow-up book and wasn’t as impressed.
    Anyways, I hope your shots are going well. I have a good about this!

  3. Cecilia Says:

    I have read, and loved, many of those books. Here are a few more that I loved: Bel Canto, by Ann Patchett; Middlesex; Poisonwood Bible, by Barbara Kingsolver; Life of Pi; Daisy Fay and the Miracle Man, by Fannie Flagg…

Leave a Reply

