BCP Suck!

I took my first BCP yesterday morning – I was so nauseous I almost lost it in Starbucks! Hopefully I will get used to them. TW’s antibiotics start today too. The nurse told me to warn him that he should take the pills with food, but no dairy. If he has any dairy he has to wait 2-3 hours before taking a pill, or he needs to wait 2-3 hours after taking a pill if he wants to eat dairy.

However, the instructions from the pharmacist say to take the pill with food or a full glass of milk!

Hmmmm?

3 Responses to “BCP Suck!”

  1. kona Says:

    Good luck with starting treatments! If you look at taking BCP and the rest of the regime as a temporary means to an end, maybe that will make it easier? 😉 I hate it when you get conflicting advice about meds. I normally trust the pharmacist above all others when it comes to meds…but I guess TW taking abx pills with non dairy foods would satisfy requirements for both the nurse’s advice and the pharmacist’s.

  2. SaraS-P Says:

    Reminds me of when I noticed my prometrium (prescribed to help maintain a pregnancy) had the warning: “Do not take if pregnant or trying to become pregnant.” Pharmacists and docs/nurses need to get their stories straight.

    Hope your body adjusts to the BCPs.

  3. Erin Says:

    Ugh – I’m sorry the bcp’s are sucking so bad. How long do you have to be on them? We noticed that with my husband’s antibiotic. He had just had a bowl of ice cream, but decided to take it anyway. He didn’t have any issues, so I guess nobody knows what the hell they’re talking about!

    Good luck this cycle!

Leave a Reply

