The Luteal Phase Defect Myth? (UPDATED)

I am feeling VERY anxious. Part of it is that the remodel has made our life really chaotic. TW has been working all week and I feel really overwhelmed….packing and boxing and moving crap. Today he has the day off (and the rest of the weekend too!) so I have half a mind telling him – “I’m done! Have fun doing the rest!”. I am going to work today so we shall see how much he gets done. He better not sit in front of the computer today, or there will be HELL TO PAY. This weekend my friend M has offered to come over and help pack stuff up, so that will be fun to have some girl company.

So — One phrase that Dr. P said to me when we had our IVF consult is really bugging me. I told him I start spotting early and that his 12 day progesterone protocol doesn’t seem like enough for me. I told him I have a Luteal Phase Defect. This has hit home today because I started spotting at 10DPO. My temps are still high, so supposedly it really shouldn’t be that much of an issue if spotting starts at 10 or 11DPO. However, I just keep worrying that nothing will be able to implant if I start shedding my lining so soon. Dr. P. said, “We don’t know if Luteal Phase Defects exist”. I don’t understand that at all. There are so many other doctors that say it does exist and they treat it with progesterone. I need to check with him — do some of his patients have IVF success with short luteal phases? I didn’t ask that question specifically.

I don’t know if we will be able to cycle so quickly. My pathogen test results have just started to trickle in. Two out of five so far, and they need them all before we can do the lupron challenge. If I am spotting today, I will probably get my period on Sunday. I don’t think all my ducks will be in a row in time! I was SO excited to get started. I guess there is always next month.

Well ladies, we will be disconnecting the computer today and the internet has not moved to the cottage yet, so not sure if I will have internet this weekend. Have a great weekend, and I will try to check in soon!

*******

Okay, I just had to add this. A friend of mine from work who moved offices a while back just stopped by to say hello. She knows about my IF woes (not in all the glorious detail but knows that I have been trying for a while), and so I told her that we finally decided to try IVF. She said, “Well good luck with that…did I tell you our good news?” UGH. I don’t even need to tell you what she said, right?

2 Responses to “The Luteal Phase Defect Myth? (UPDATED)”

  1. Pam Says:

    I can’t say if the luteal phase defect exists or not, but do read the Infertility Blog by Dr. Liccardi? He has a three part series of posts on the Luteal Phase and the Luteau Phase Defect. Here’s the links to all three posts.

    http://infertilityblog.blogspot.com/2007/08/follicular-phase-and-luteal-phase.html
    http://infertilityblog.blogspot.com/2007/08/luteal-phase-defect.html
    http://infertilityblog.blogspot.com/2007/09/luteal-phase-defect-3.html

  2. sarasp Says:

    I get really frustrated with the lack of consensus on luteal phase defects. Some say LP defects are really a reflection of ovulatory phase defects, blah, blah, blah. That doesn’t comfort someone who wants to know why they haven’t been able to get pregnant!

Leave a Reply

