Kids by the Dozen

I was watching this show last night called “Kids by the Dozen” on TLC. It is a show that documents a different family each time…the families have at least 12 kids. Last night there was a family in Minnesota that had SIXTEEN children. The oldest was 27 and the youngest was about 3. Of course the mom stays at home to take care of the kids, but she has lots of help (the teenage kids). The family seemed a little too enmeshed with one another, it was a little weird. Since they have so many mouths to feed, the father has to work several jobs, many of which take him away from home for long periods of time. So basically the mother is raising these kids on her own. Some of the older children have moved away to college and beyond but there are still plenty that have stuck around.

I couldn’t help but SEETHE. What are these people thinking? This woman is ALWAYS pregnant. I felt like she has usurped the fertility that I should have. Save some for other people, woman! Maybe there is only room for a certain number of souls, and since she had 16 kids, 11 or 12 people (like me) won’t be able to have them.

It just grossed me out. I don’t see the point. They were religious people (I couldn’t tell if they were Mormon or what) but they were obviously struggling for money and the mom was SO tired and stressed out. I don’t see how this life that they chose is good for any of them. Get some condoms or keep it in your pants, dad!

That is my vent for the day. I get irritated enough when I see a family with four little kids, but sixteen is just ludicrous.

The Z clinic e-mailed me to remind me of my phone consult next week, but they haven’t received my medical records yet (grrrr…I paid $60 bucks to my clinic for the request!), so if they don’t get them soon, I will have to reschedule.

3 Responses to “Kids by the Dozen”

  1. Pam Says:

    I saw the beginning of that show but had to go out and didn’t bother recording it. I believe they are a Baptist family. Even though they use TWO types of birth control, she still manages to get pregnant, and she doesn’t even like it because she gets so sick with pregnancies. So I hear her say this and I’m thinking “do something about it”. But as soon as I hear her husband say something to the effect of “I guess God thinks I can handle this”, I knew that there was no way that either of them would do anything to prevent further pregnancies. If it comes on again, maybe I’ll try and watch it. 🙂

    Good luck with the phone consult next week.

  2. babystep Says:

    Yikes I missed the beginning of the show – I didn’t hear the part about the birth control! Now THAT is really fair, huh?

  3. missedconceptions Says:

    I just read an article about these shows — they are are part of the “Quiverfull” movement that the Duggars are put of.

    I will see if I can link to it — some scary stuff with these hyper-fertile folks.

Leave a Reply

