I’m On Pins and Needles

I had my 2nd acupuncture treatment yesterday. I love K. She has this soothing way about her, but she is also really “normal” if you know what I mean. I always pictured non-Chinese people who practice Traditional Chinese Medicine and Acupuncture as Hippie-Dippie Granola types, but she isn’t like that at all. This time I lay on my back and she put needles as follows: one right between my eyes (where my uni-brow would be if I didn’t wax), three on my left ear, one in the middle of my tummy (between my belly button and my pelvis), one over each ovary (I really concentrated on those), one on each “web” between my thumb and forefinger, and one on each foot. They stung like insect bites when they went in but then I felt nothing except serene calm. She left me alone for about 30 minutes and I was in kind of a twilight state. I really didn’t know what I was going to think when I first started acupuncture, but I really love it. Now if only TW would agree to go! He is the one who really needs it!

I am supposed to take the “Nourish the Root” pills until the day of ovulation, and then start the progesterone cream from 2 days past ovulation until 14 day past. K thinks that we have a chance to conceive naturally. Our timing has been great so far…I stayed home for a “nooner” on Wednesday and then last night we got the deed done too. I know we are only supposed to do it every other day, but my OPK this morning was almost positive, so I may try to attack TW again tonight. I am going to POAS again tonight, as I feel some side pains too. I keep focusing on the energy from the ovary needles, plus the energy from my puppy the other night, nestled against my tummy. I swam for 40 minutes today and tried to just clear my mind of everything but the water and my muscles moving through it. I imagined the sperm swimming through my tubes and uterus and finding the egg. I saw the egg on my right ovary on Monday during my u/s and it is about to release. I am trying to think as positive as I can, but I have this weird free floating anxiety feeling right now — pins and needles — it has been here for a couple of days. I think it is because we have decided to do IVF and I don’t know what is in store.

I realized a couple of weeks ago that I have been drinking more than I should. Not that I get wasted every night, not even close. But it just got to be a habit to crack open a bottle of wine when I got home from work, and it was extremely rare that I didn’t have a glass or two in the evening. Ever since I came to the realization that natural conception probably won’t happen for us, I started to “self-medicate” a little bit, especially on my dark “Gloom and Doom” days. I drink wine to “take the edge off”. This is such a slippery slope. So, after my highschool reunion on August 11th, I decided to pay attention. So after that, up until two days ago, I hadn’t had a drop (and even then I only had 1/2 a light beer). Last night I had a glass of wine with dinner (I was at a dinner party), but I am not going to give myself a hard time. Now that I am more aware I don’t think it will become a problem. I am not going to drink when I am just hanging out at home. I know that drinking is a no-no when TTC, so I need to watch it!

When I left K’s office last night, she told me that she knows I am going to get pregnant. I hope, hope, hope she is right. I have to believe that she is right.

6 Responses to “I’m On Pins and Needles”

  1. Amy R Says:

    YOU ARE GOING TO GET PG. Believe it. 🙂

  2. Jenna Says:

    You know, it’s funny how when my RE said that same statement I believed it… but I also felt like he was trying to sell me something. When my first acu lady said the same thing, I believed it… without the sales pitch. That was the cycle that worked.

    Have you asked about acu after pregnancy? I think that’s somewhat controversial, but if I could do it over again, I would have continued.

    I’m so glad she made you feel good about your future!

  3. kona Says:

    Your accu treatments sound relaxing. I’ve never tried it. Yes-believing in your dreams is powerful. I’m glad you are feeling hopeful and visualizing your pregnancy. As for the nightly drinking- I’ve been through something like that too before- but it was my work that was the stressor. It’s easy to justify unwinding with a little wine- but it can be the path to a really bad habit if you’re not careful. It’s good you are self aware. I know alcohol is a no-no when TTC, but probably the occasional stray drink in moderation won’t make much difference. Not much longer and you will get that BFP! I can’t wait to share in your happy day when it comes. 😉

  4. babystep Says:

    Hey Jenna – that is funny, my RE never said that I would get pregnant! She just kept telling me to try IVF. Yes, I asked K about acu treatment during pregnancy and she is actually a midwife too, and she usually does it once a week through the 1st trimester and then once a month for the rest of the pregnancy for her clients. I am going to check with the fertility clinic to see what they say, and if they are all for it I think I will definitely do it (WHEN I get pregnant).

  5. babystep Says:

    Hey Kona – glad I am not the only one that hits the bottle every once in a while! 🙂

  6. lou Says:

    are you pregnant, after ready all that, I really hope so.

Leave a Reply

