Step Away from the Bulletin Boards…

My new friend Amy R has started prepping for her first IVF cycle. She turned me onto IVF Connections, a network of information, bulletin boards, chat rooms based around the theme of IVF. You can look up clinics by area and search for feedback on specific doctors, clinics, etc. I have just spent a good hour looking through the site and lurked on the boards. Some of the ladies got lucky on the first try (please let that be me!), others have gone through 5, 6, 7 IVF cycles with BFN’s every time. Of course I am focusing on the negative outcomes. Why can’t my brain be more amenable to positive information? I probably read just as many positive stories as sad ones, but I am fixated on the negative stuff. I am so sad I waited so long. What was I thinking? We started trying when I was 33 or 34 years old. That sounds so young now! I know that hindsight is 20/20 and all that shit, but it is so hard not to go there. I need some optimism. Can I borrow some of yours?

Leave a Reply

