The New, New Plan

Last night TW and I got into a war. He was supposed to get his blood test done today, but he decided to work and won’t be able to do it. I was so angry I said some horrible things about sperm banks or finding a random guy with good sperm who would be happy to father my child. As you may have guessed this didn’t go over so well. He said some horrible things back to me, and there were tears and raised voices, and the puppy was scared. 😦 We got it all out. I think we just needed to explode for a moment to get rid of some of this negative energy. We both feel better now. I am still mad that he decided to work but he is taking the day off on Monday (he PROMISED) and will do the test on Monday (he hadn’t taken the day off today, he just didn’t have anything scheduled and then something popped up). I guess 3 days really isn’t that big of a deal, but it was the principle. I envisioned it as him choosing work over our future baby. I was being a drama queen. I am just so stressed!

This morning I got an e-mail that gave me goose bumps and brought tears to my eyes. My friend KH that I met on a babycenter.com bulletin board (I don’t go there anymore…but I kept up with 6 people and we started our own mini-private group) just got her very, very first BFP after a long 4 year journey of trying, add in male factor, many IUIs, and 1 failed IVF. Her first IVF went super well (we all thought), but when it was time for her beta, she got a BFN – devastating. Her 2nd attempt at IVF worked and she got her BFP yesterday! She and I were traveling on parallel paths, but she was a little ahead of me. It seems like she was one of the few girls I have met over the last couple of years who had also never had a BFP. I am so, so, so happy for her.

This jumped started my whole new plan. Why wait 3 months to see if TW’s meds will work if we increase the dose. We can still increase the dose, but there is no point in waiting. I want to do IVF, and I want to do it now. If the meds end up working that is great too. But there is no point in just sitting around to see. I have to get proactive. I am not getting any younger. I am calling my RE today.

4 Responses to “The New, New Plan”

  1. Heather Says:

    Why do men drag their feet?? Drives me NUTS when BigP does it.

    I’m glad you are taking a proactive approach!

  2. missedconceptions Says:

    Yeah for IVF!!

    I am for anything that gets you pregnant the soonest, and this sounds like the best option at this point.

  3. babystep Says:

    I am starting to research clinics, and finance plans etc. I already bit the bullet and asked my parents to fund my 2nd attempt if I need it! Did you hear that Krisde got knocked up with her 2nd IVF attempt? That was what pushed to move forward…her situation was exactly like mine (39 years old, husband has low sperm counts, etc). I hope it works for me too!

  4. Ashley Bass Says:

    I am sorry to hear you hubby did not get the test on Thursday! Three days isn’t that bad..just keep on him! As for your friend who got the BFP, wow! Great! This should give you some hope! I know 2 IVF’s besides 1 is hard to go through, but the fact that it only took 2 instead of more is great! Anyway, as for your decision, I am glad your making the best decision for you.

Leave a Reply

