The New Plan

We have a new plan. And with a new plan, there is renewed hope. TW is going to get his blood work done on Thursday.

If his prolactin levels are still high, it means that the dosage of his meds is too low. Dr. L will prescribe a new dosage and we will wait 3 months for another S/A and try naturally all the while. If the S/A shows improvement, we could be in business. Please, Please, Please let this be how it goes.

If his prolactin levels have normalized, it means that he has responded to the meds, but his sperm counts haven’t normalized like they are supposed to. We will have to accept the fact that we don’t have enough sperm to get pregnant naturally. So, we will go straight to IVF – ICSI. This scares the crap out of me. The shots, the prep, the retrieval and transfer. I worry that TW won’t be around at the right time…I hope we can work around it. I hope that we can freeze some of his swimmers? Does anyone know? I know that freezing kills off 50%-75% of sperm, but if they only need a handful, maybe it would be okay?

The other thing that scares me is the cost. We aren’t loaded and the $15,000 that it takes to do IVF-ICSI is going to definitely sting. And if it doesn’t work the first time, I don’t know if we will be able to do it again. I have read so many stories of 3, 4, 5 IVFs before success. But maybe I will be one of the lucky ones with the IVF slot machine? I drop $15,000 worth of quarters into the slot, and get a baby in return? That would be the jackpot.

I was looking at a clinic’s policies and they have one of those financing plans where you can pay for 3 IVFs up front and then get some of your money back if you don’t have success. However, their criteria is that you have to be under 38 years old with a day-3 FSH of 9 or less. WTF?!?! My FSH is a healthy 5.8, and it pisses me off that they would do this for a 23 year old with an FSH of 9, but not for me.

So as you can see, I am anxious and nervous, but I am also hopeful. IVF may be in our not-so-distant future. We will know more on Thursday.

3 Responses to “The New Plan”

  1. Heather Says:

    I hate that money plays such a huge role for so many of us. I just don’t understand why it has to cost so much? I hope that you are pregnant very, very soon.

  2. babystep Says:

    Thanks, Heather. I hope the same for you. Have you been to the wish box at Stirrup-Queens? I went yesterday.

  3. Ashley Bass Says:

    Wow…IVF is so expensive. It is not fair. :\ I truly hope the meds for TW will help and that will get you your pregnancy. I know the thought of IVF has to be scarey…not only because of the financial part. Also, I am glad TW was quick to respond on getting his bloodwork.

Leave a Reply

