Sperm Count Unchanged

I just broke into TW’s on-line medical site to see if he got his results. He did. Not good. The subject line of the message from his doctor is “Sperm Count Unchanged”. Here is the note from the doctor:

Unfortunately the sperm count, morphology and motility are not improved. It looks like you never rechecked a prolactin level on bromocriptine. I had wanted you to do this some time ago to prove that you were taking a corrective dose of the drug. Have you stayed on the bromocriptine? If so, you should have a fasting prolactin level measured before your morning bromocriptine dose to prove that the dose is adequate. I’d also suggest seeing me again at your convenience to discuss long-term strategy.
Thanks, Dr. L

Can I be any more disappointed? I feel like we are cursed. He has been popping the pills religiously, every night (sometimes he remembers on his own, other times I hand it to him). When he is out of town, I call him to gently remind him. I have taken a picture of the pill bottle on my phone and sometimes I send it to him when I need to remind him. He has been on the pills for almost 4 months. And. Nothing. Has. Changed. FUCK. FUCK. FUCK. So much for my “This is the Day” mantra. And now I am kicking myself for not bugging, nagging, screaming, yelling at TW to go get his fucking blood test. 4 months wasted. I kept thinking it wasn’t a big deal because we would see if the pills were working when he did his Sperm Analysis. What an idiot I am. I didn’t realize that the Doctor could assess the dose with the blood work. I guess if the prolactin levels are lowered, then the dose is correct but the sperm counts didn’t respond. If the prolactin levels are not lower, then the dose could be increased. So now we are back to the drawing board. I am SO frustrated! Why can’t this happen for us? The doctor said that most men respond well to the medication and the sperm counts/motility/morphology normalize in 3 months. I was so hopeful that TW would be in the “most men” category. I can go to acupuncture until I look like a needle whoring drug addict but it won’t help anything if I have so few sperm to work with. Here are the results, in case you are curious:

Volume 2.6 mL (normal 1.5 – 5.0)
Motility 2 hour 40% (normal >60)
Progressive Motility Score 2+ (normal 3-4)
Sperm Abnormal Morphology 83% (Normal <40)
Sperm Count per cc 13 (normal >60) mL

This is such a roller coaster ride. I felt so hopefully yesterday. And now I am in a black, black, hole.

4 Responses to “Sperm Count Unchanged”

  1. Heather Says:

    I am so sorry. I hope they figure it out soon and that there is a change.

    In the meantime, be gentle with yourself. You don’t need to kick yourself while you are down. You did what you thought was right. Hind sight is 20/20 and all that crap…

  2. babystep Says:

    Hi Heather, Thanks for the support. It really sucks.

  3. Ashley Bass Says:

    I am sorry to hear about the wasted time. :\ I know it always feels that your getting no where sometimes. I truely hope that hubby will be more compliant and get the blood test. Hopefully this will prove that a med increase is all that is needed. I know these set backs can be so hard.

  4. babystep Says:

    Hi Ashley — he is going to go on Monday, he PROMISED. We are moving onto IVF now, I am SO excited. So the meds may be moot at this point, we will still check it out the dose in case IVF doesn’t work, then maybe his sperm counts will normalize later on anyway. But my hope is all wrapped up in IVF now.

Leave a Reply

